Lifestyle

New Years Goals and Resolutions 2017

Before I say anything else, follow my blog with Bloglovin.

Well, you know what they say:

New Year, New Me.

This year I plan on changing many aspects of my life. I find myself in a constant cycle of complaining and being unhappy with how my life is going. Right now, I’m at home on winter break and when I say I do nothing all day, I mean I do n o t h i n g. This year I hope to set up a bit of a routine and structure to my life to make it more exciting and something worth living. That’s part of the reason why I started this blog! To motivate me to do more. Now, in no particular order:

Resolution 1

I suppose this one is rather boring, but I am determined to floss every single day. I’ve always had a problem being consistent with my flossing, but after a less than stellar visit to my dentist last month, I’m going to start flossing more often.

Resolution 2

My second resolution is to stop using technology before bed. So no more falling asleep toΒ Gilmore Girls every night and no more texting before bed. I’ve already noticed a difference in my sleep quality and how easily I’m able to fall asleep!

Resolution 3

Another very important goal I have is to drink at least a half a gallon of water everyday. Technically, I should be drinking around a gallon everyday, but I have some serious problems with drinking enough water so I figured I’d kind of low ball it to ensure that I’m getting the bare minimum I need for survival. I can tell this one is probably going to be difficult for me.

Resolution 4

Ah, now we get to the slightly more fun goals. I want to start blogging once a week. The main reason I started this blog was to create a bit of a creative outlet for me and also to motivate me to get up, get going, and get out! For right now, I don’t mind using WordPress to host my blog, but if I consistently blog more than once or twice a week for three months, I’m going to move over to another hosting site. I feel like that’s a fun little reward I can give myself!

Resolution 5

Last year, I did not read one single book. Excluding the books that IΒ had to read for my classes, I did not read anything. As a HUGE book nerd, I am so disappointed in myself for letting that get away from me. This year I am hoping to read at least one book per month. I feel like that shouldn’t be too unrealistic with school and everything, but we won’t know until I start classes back up again.

Resolution 6

This one has already proven to be a struggle so far. I really want to start going to the gym, or at least working out, two times per week. So far, I have not been to the gym once. I’m really on a roll here guys.

Resolution 7

This resolution is fairly simple. I’m planning on opening a savings account. Right now, all of my money is in my checking account which just makes it aΒ little too easy to spend. It’ll also be nice to have the money in that account accrue a little interest.

Resolution 8

This final resolution is actually pretty related to #7. This one is to do one of those weekly savings plans. You start off by saving $1 for week 1, $2 for week 2, $3 for week 3, and then keep going from there. I’m not going to start a savings plan until I open up the savings account, but when I do this will be the first thing to happen!

I have a lot of work to do this year! I hope these goals and resolutions turn into habits that stick with me for a very long time. I’ll be sure to keep you all updated on my progress throughout the year.

Talk to you soon!

xoxo, Molly

Leave a Reply

